

The Wilson S. Stone Memorial Award

The Wilson S. Stone Memorial Award was created in 1971 to recognize young researchers who have made outstanding contributions to biomedical sciences in the United States. The award honors the late Wilson S. Stone, Ph.D., a brilliant researcher and educator who helped develop the sciences within The University of Texas System.

The award is presented at the Annual Symposium on Cancer Research sponsored by The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center.



Wilson S. Stone Memorial Award Recipients

2021 Georg Winter, Ph.D.

His research focuses on using the unique molecular pharmacology of targeted protein degradation to understand and disrupt fundamental principles of transcription and gene control aberrantly regulated in human cancers.

2020 Pawel Mazur, Ph.D.

His research focuses on the mechanisms that control cancer progression and drug resistance. His recent work has shown promising methods to block the effects of the KRAS oncogene on pancreatic and lung cancer growth including a new mechanism controlling protein synthesis in the cancer cell.

2019 Andrew Aguirre, M.D., Ph.D.

His research focuses on identifying new therapeutic targets in pancreatic cancer, and developing a personalized approach to pancreatic cancer treatment based on genomic and functional studies of patient-specific tumor models.

2018 Nicholas McGrnahan, Ph.D.

His research interests include using bioinformatics to dissect cancer genome evolution and anti-tumor immunity.

2017 Cigall Kadoch, M.D., Ph.D.

Her work has been centered in mechanically interrogating rare, molecularly well-defined cancers, to understand the role that chromatin remodeling complexes play in promoting a wide range of more common cancer types.

2016 Liuqing Yang, Ph.D.

He has successfully implemented a research program that has investigated cancerassociated pathways that are related to gene transcription, nuclear architectural organization, epigenetic programming, and cellular signaling transduction, with a particular emphasis on the role of long noncoding RNAs in cancer biology.

2015 Valerie LeBleu, Ph.D.

Her laboratory studies the mechanism underpinning tumor host responses to control cancer metastasis, and emphasizes tumor vascular biology and its impact on the metabolic milieu and adaptation of cancer cells.

2014 Mitchell Guttman, Ph.D.

Described a new class of genes called IncRNAs, short for large noncoding RNAs.

2013 Nicholas Navin, Ph.D.

He developed Single Nucleus Sequencing (SNS), one of the first methods for performing genome-wide next-generation sequencing analysis on individual cancer cells.



2012 Luca Gattinoni, M.D.

Through his efforts to understand the complexity and heterogeneity of killer and memory T cells, he is helping to improve cancer immunotherapies based on the adoptive transfer of T cells.

2011 Roeland Verhaak, Ph.D.

For his work in putting new computational tools to work parsing the multiple genetic pathways that fuel more than 20 types of cancer.

2010 Michael Davies, M.D., Ph.D.

For his work using integrated approaches to study the role and regulation of protein kinase signaling pathways in cancer.

2009 Weihua Zhang, Ph.D., M.D.

For his work studying the molecular mechanisms of cancer metastasis.

2008 Helene Richards McMurray, Ph.D.

For research on how multiple cancer genes cooperate to cause the transformation of malignant cells.

2007 Karen T. Liby, Ph.D.

For her work in making impressive contributions to understand the unique molecular actions of synthetic triterpenoids and to apply that knowledge to developing new drugs for the prevention and treatment of cancer.

2006 Scott Armstrong, M.D., Ph.D.

For his work on the mechanisms of leukemogenesis.

2005 John V. Heymach, M.D., Ph.D.

For his work in the field of angiogenesis inhibitors and other targeted agents, particularly inhibitors of the VEGF receptor.

2004 David M. Berman, M.D., Ph.D.

For his work in elucidating roles for Hedgehog (Hh) signaling pathway in cancer.

2003 Xiao-Feng Qin, Ph.D.

For his work on lentiviral vector-mediated RNA interference in mammalian cells.

2002 David Cortez, Ph.D.

For his classic work on evolution of the Genus Drosophila.

2001 James A. Thomson, V.M.D., Ph.D.

For his generation of human embryonic stem cells and contributions to an understanding of their differentiation potential.



2000 (Jan.) Yigong Shi, Ph.D.

For his accomplishments in apoptosis research and in the field of TGF- β signalling.

1998 Xiaodong Wang, Ph.D.

For his elegant work in understanding the fundamental mechanisms of apoptosis, the cascade of genetically determined events that culminates in cell death.

1997 Peter C. Brooks, Ph.D.

For his studies defining the role of integrin v 3 in tumor growth and angiogenesis.

1996 Ali Hemmati-Brivanlou, Ph.D.

For his contributions to the study of molecular events leading to vertebrate embryonic induction.

1995 Nikola P. Pavletich, Ph.D.

For his work on clarifying the structures involved in the p53 pathway and related pathways of cell cycle control.

1994 Junying Yuan, Ph.D

For her work in genetic regulation of programmed cell death.

1993 Andrew B. Lassar, Ph.D.

For his work on transcription factors that play a role in controlling muscle determination and differentiation.

1992 Timothy J. McDonnell, M.D., Ph.D.

For his work on programmed cell death and its regulation.

1991 Frank J. Rauscher III, Ph.D.

For his work on the molecular basis of oncogenesis at the level of gene regulation.

1991 William H. Landschulz, M.D., Ph.D.

For his work in developing the leucine zipper model of sequence-specific interaction between protein and DNA.

1990 Eric R. Fearon, M.D., Ph.D.

For his work on the relationships between the loss of genetic material and the development and spread of cancer.

1989 Christopher K. Glass, M.D., Ph.D.

For his work in clarifying the molecular mechanisms of steroid and thyroid hormone actions.

1988 Jeremy Nathans, M.D., Ph.D.

For his studies that have improved our knowledge of color vision.



Making Cancer History®

1987 Bernd Robert Seizinger, M.D.

For his work resulting in the identification of genetic changes resulting in two forms of neurofibromatosis.

1985 Jeffrey Adam Drebin, M.D., Ph.D.

For his work with monoclonal antibodies reactive with a cell-surface oncogene product.

1984 Mary Ellen Harper, Ph.D.

For her role in developing the most widely used technique for mapping single copy genes using in situ hybridization.

1983 Ethan Arthur Lerner, M.D., Ph.D.

For his work with monoclonal antibodies specific for an immune response gene product.

1981 Michael Rush Lerner, M.D., Ph.D.

For his studies of small nuclear RNA protein complexes.

1980 Peter T. Lomedico, Ph.D.

For his work on the structure and expression of insulin genes.

1980 Marc S Collett, Ph.D.

For his studies on the avian sarcoma virus transforming gene product.

1979 Craig W. Spellman, Ph.D.

For his work on the role of suppressor cells in tumor immunology.

1978 Bruce K. Duncan, Ph.D.

For his work with uracil-DNA glycosidase.

1977 Bosco S. Wang, Ph.D.

For his work on the potential use of immunogenic RNA.

1976 Kathryn B. Horwitz, Ph.D.

For her work in developing methods for predicting endocrine responsiveness in metastatic breast cancer.

1974 Ronald C. Merrell, M.D.

For his work on the cell surface recognition properties of embryonic cells.

1973 Kathleen J. Dana, Ph.D.

For her work in the study of the SV40 tumor virus genome.

1972 Michael F. Holick, Ph.D.

For his work in the field of vitamin D metabolism.

1971 Roberta M. Palmour, Ph.D.

For her studies of the structure of transferrin.